A street at Asia Town, IT Park in Lahug, Cebu City was named after India, inaugurated last 29 December 2009 as part of the anniversary celebration on the establishment of the Philippines-India Diplomatic Relations.

President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo proclaimed the month of November 2009 as “Philippines-India Friendship Month”.

Signed on 23 October 2009 in Malacañang Palace, Presidential Proclamation No. 1924  is in observance of the 60th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations with India on 16 November 1949.

Seven years after India achieved independence in 1947, the Philippines and India signed a Treaty of Friendship on 11 July 1952 in Manila to strengthen friendly relations. By November 1949, the Philippine Legation in New Delhi was established and then elevated to an Embassy.

The naming of the street was previously proposed by Francisco Benedicto, The Philippines’ Ambassador to India,  and was confirmed by the Cebu City Council in a resolution.

Read more


WP Themes